Nianhong Chen
nchenus@yahoo.com
Organic geochemistry; carbon cycling in riverine, estuarine and coastal ecosystems using biomarker techniques; biomarker techniques to examine transport and fates of terrestrial organic matter in coastal, estuarine and continental shelf environments; release of nitrogen/phosphorus nutrients from agricultural land and urban development to aquatic ecosystem, dynamics of nutrient in stream and coastal bays of Eastern Shore

Marcos Cheney
macheney@umes.edu
Nanostructure technology for environmental, biomedical and clinical applications; surface chemistry; nuclear medicine; trace metals and radionuclides detection and removal; electrokinetic phenomena

Paulinus Chigbu
pchigbu@umes.edu
web site
Fisheries ecology; influence of variations in climatic factors on water quality and biota; culture of rotifers and copepods for use in rearing marine fish larvae; trophic dynamics in marine and freshwater environments; zooplankton ecology

Robert Dadson
rbdadson@mail.umes.edu
International programs in soybean breeding; insect resistance of soybeans; agronomy and breeding of food enzymes; biological nitrogen fixation

Joseph Dodoo
jdodoo@umes-bird.umd.edu
Application of TG/MS/GC to the study of the spontaneous conbustion of low rank coals and lignites

Dia-Eldin Elnaiem
daelnaiem@umes.edu
 
web site
Biology of Leishmania  parasites in their sand fly vectors; biology, ecology and population genetics of sand fly vectors of leishmaniasis in East Africa; epidemiology and control of visceral and cutaneous Leishmaniasis; epidemiology and control of malaria; ecology and control of mosquito vectors of disease in Maryland coastal bays. 

Thomas Handwerker
tshandwerker@mail.umes.edu
 
Innovative agricultural technology of small-scale alternative crops, specialty crops; hydroponic greenhouse production; poultry waste composting 

Jeannine Harter-Dennis
jmharter-dennis@mail.umes.edu
Nutritional requirements of roaster chickens; reduction of carcass fat in broilers and roasters; bone abnormalities of chickens

Ali B. Ishaque
abishaque@mail.umes.edu
marine ecotoxicology - behavior, transport, distribution and fate of chemical stressors in marine environments

Andrea Karen Johnson
akjohnson@mail.umes.edu
web site
Assessing the health of Atlantic menhaden using several biomarkers of fish health: indicators of tissue damage, nutritional status and exposure to environmental stresors, immune function and disease

Eric B. May
ebmay@mail.umes.edu
web site
Effects of environmental contamination and habitat degradation on aquatic animal health; use of biochemical and metabolic indicators to determine the response of fish to injurious agents of conditions; establishment of clinical methods for non-lethal testing

Madhumi Mitra
mmitra@mail.umes.edu
Paleontology, paleocology and paleoenvironmental studies of cretaceous-quaternary sediments of atlantic coastal plain; factors impacting the decline of submerged aquatic vegetation; phytoplankton dynamics

Thoedore A. Mollett
tamollett@mail.umes.edu
Role of hormones in animal growth, reproduction and lactation

Abhijit Nagchaudhuri
anagchaudhuri@umes.edu
Integration of advanced technologies of mechatronics in the fields of precision agriculture, environmental, marine and geosciences; remote sensing and image analysis

Salina Parveen
sparveen@mail.umes.edu
Genotypic and phenotypic methods for detecting sources of fecal pollution in aquatic environments; rapid molecular and immunological methods for detection of water and food borne pathogens; improvement of safety and quality characteristics of seafood, poultry, produce

Joseph Pitula
jspitula@umes.edu
web site
Molecular biology and metabolomics of marine protistan parasites; ecology of disease transmission

Douglas E. Ruby
deruby@mail.umes.edu
Population ecology and behavior of reptiles; sexual selection and mating systems of vertebrates; territoriality and agonistic behavior; biogeography; conservation biology of amphibians and reptilesecology

Jeurel Singleton
jsingleton@mail.umes.edu
Identification and characterization of arthropod sensory structures; arthropod community population dynamics on host animals, aquatic and crop environments; arthropod disease vectors

Bradley G. Stevens
bgstevens@umes.edu
web site
Fisheries ecology; reproduction and early life history of crustaceans and mollusks; crustacean growth, molting, and feeding; use of in-situ technology (video, ROVs, submersibles) for studying abundance and behavior of marine species; bycatch, discard mortality, and impacts of derelict fishing gear

Uche Udeochu
ucudeochu@umes.edu
Design of nano-composite membranes for fuel cell applications; characterization of biologically active species in solutions and on surfaces; development of new SERS active substrates for identification of biological molecules and trace elements

Victoria Volkis
vvolkis@umes.edu
Synthesis of biocompatible organometallic catalysts for ring opening and olefin polymerizations; synthesis of biodegradable polymers for biomedical research with specialized functional group attached; incorporation of boron clusters into polymers

Yan Waguespack
yywaguespack@umes.edu
web site
Lethal and sublethal responses of early life-stages of winter flounder to habitat contamination in their natal estuaries; sublethal physiological effects of heavy metal on ecologically key marine and aquatic organisms by using 31P NMR, AAS and ICP-AES; characterization of high molecular weight mucin-like glycoconjugates from fish models; heavy metal and polyaromatic hydrocarbon investigations on sediment along Maryland coastal bay, and heavy metal contaminants' effect on SAV plant along Maryland coastal bay; phyto remediation of TNT, DNT and other contaminants

Meng Xia
mxia@umes.edu
Numerical modeling of estuarine and coastal ocean, such as hydrodynamic modeling and plume dynamics; water quality modeling and bio-physical interaction; wave-current coupling and nearshore circulation