Andrew Baldwin
baldwin@umd.edu
web site
Wetland ecology; plant community dynamics of coastal marshes and mangroves; disturbance and regeneration ecology of wetland vegetation; wetland seed banks; influence of sea level rise on coastal wetlands; community and ecosystem processes of created and restored wetlands; nutrient effects on wetland plant communities

Neil V. Blough
neilb@umd.edu
web site
Methods for detecting and identifying free radicals in condensed phases; impact of (photo)oxidative reactions on the transformation and fate of organic & inorganic compounds in natural waters and biological systems

Kaye L. Brubaker
klbrubak@umd.edu
web site
Physical hydrology; numerical modeling; stream and estuary water-quality modeling; water vapor transport; hydroclimatology; land-atmosphere interactions

James Carton
carton@umd.edu
web site
Physical oceanography; ocean circulation; dynamics of the tropical Atlantic as it responds to meteorological forcing on seasonal and longer timescales

Allen P. Davis
apdavis@umd.edu 
web site
Environmental chemistry; aquatic and interfacial environmental chemistry as related to water/ wastewater treatment processes and in natural aquatic/soil systems

William Fagan
bfagan@glue.umd.edu
web site
Meshing field research with theoretical models to address critical questions in community ecology and conservation biology; ecological "edge effects" and spatial dynamics; ecoinformatics, biodiversity databases, and conservation planning

Oliver J. Hao
ojh1@umd.edu
web site
Wet air oxidation of hazardous wastes; cometabolism of hazardous organics; nutrient removal; biological processes control; biological nitrate; sulfate chromium and selenium reduction

Reginal M. Harrell
rharrell@umd.edu
web site
Environmental and bioethics; conservation and restoration ecology; breeding genetics and hybridization; stress physiology of vertebrates

Robert L. Hill
rlh@umd.edu
web site
Tillage effect on soil hydraulic properties and agrichemical losses; development of nutrient management planning and environmental risk assessment software

Anwar Huq
huq@umd.edu
web site
Transmission of aquatic bacterial pathogens, their molecular ecology and direct detection, using remote sensing and aerospace technology; development and optimization of rapid detection of aquatic pathogens, using molecular and immunological methods, and application of these methods in the field

Patrick Kangas
pkangas@umd.edu
web site
Ecological engineering; natural resource management; tropical ecosystems

Sujay Kaushal
skaushal@umd.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry, fate and transport of pollutants, limnology, microbial ecology, organic geochemistry and environmental history

Michael S. Kearney
mkearne2@umd.edu
 
web site
Quaternary geomorphology; processes and rates of marsh loss; barrier island dynamics; applications of remote sensing to the study of coastal processes

William O. Lamp
lamp@umd.edu
web site
Applied insect ecology; plant-insect interactions; ecotoxicology; aquatic macroinvertebrate ecology in streams and wetlands impacted by humans

Stephanie Lansing
slansing@umd.edu
web site
Anaerobic digestion; ecological waste treatment systems; treatment wetlands; nutrient cycling; energy analysis; ecological modeling

Andrew M. Lazur
lazur@umd.edu
web site
Food and baitfish culture; integration of aquaculture with agriculture for nutrient reduction; effluent and water quality management; marketing and economic evaluation of alternative aquaculture species; fish restoration

Paul T. Leisnham
leisnham@umd.edu
web site
The ecology of native and invasive mosquitoes in water-filled containers, wetlands, and drainage systems; species that are affected both by human disruption (e.g., climate change, land use change, and globalization) and that present social, economic and health risks.

Karen R. Lips
klips@umd.edu
web site
Conservation and ecology of amphibians and reptiles, with interest at multiple scales - including population, community and ecosystems - especially as they are affected by emerging infectious disease and global change

Marla McIntosh
mmcintos@umd.edu
web site
Sustainable forestry; genetics of hyperaccumulation of Cd in Thlaspi caerulescens; pytomedicinals; genetic diversity

Bahram Momen
bmomen@umd.edu
web site
Forest ecosystems; air pollution effects on ecosystem processes through plants; tree and crop ecophysiology; applied statistical analysis and experimental design in natural resources

Brian Needelman
bneed@umd.edu
web site
Applying the concepts and tools of pedology to solve environmental problem; pollutant fate and transport; improving management and phosphorus fate and transport; carbon sequestration in tidal marshes; spatial and geospatial analyses; soil mapping and applications of soil survey databases

Maile Neel
mneel@umd.edu
web site
Understanding patterns of biological diversity as well as the relationships between these patterns and the ecological and evolutionary processes that have created them; applying this understanding to developing effective conservation approaches and to predict effects of changing patterns and processes

Judd O. Nelson
judd@umd.edu
web site
Insecticide toxicology; physiology; environmental toxicology

Edward Orlando
eorlando@umd.edu
web site
Integration of molecular, endocrinological, and morphological endpoints to investigate the environment - genome interaction and its effect on development and reproduction; how environmental factors affect the development of sex specific characteristics and brain - pituitary - gonadal axis regulation of reproduction in fishes

Mary Ann Ottinger
maotting@umd.edu
web site
Neuroendocrine regulation of endocrine and behavioral aspects of avian reproduction; effects of environmental factors, such as endocrine disrupting chemicals

Michael Paolisso
mpaoliss@umd.edu
web site
Environmental and economic anthropology; environment and pollution; international and rural development; research methods and gender

Kennedy Paynter
paynter@umd.edu
web site
Comparative biochemistry and physiology of estuarine animals, especially bivalves; oyster disease biochemistry; biology and ecology of the eastern oyster

Karen L. Prestegaard
kpresto@umd.edu
web site
Sediment transport and depositional processes; mechanisms of streamflow generation and their variations with watershed scale, geology and land use; hydrology of coastal and riparian wetlands

Martin Rabenhorst
mrabenho@umd.edu
web site
Genesis, morphology and classification of hydromorphic soils, particularly non-tidal wetlands and coastal marshes; pedogenesis and resource inventory of subaqueous soils

Marjorie Reaka
mkudla@umd.edu
web site
Marine ecology; coral reef ecology; bioerosion of coral reefs; ecology and behavior of mantis shrimp; evolutionary ecology of life history patterns in crustacea

Amir Sapkota
amirsap@umd.edu
 
web site
Exposure assessment and environmental epidemiology; understanding human exposures to chemical agents in the environment and how this exposure may vary across space and time, as well as between different population groups using personal air monitoring as well as urinary and serum based biomarkers of exposure; identification of specific subpopulations that are at increased risk of developing diseases 

Amy R. Sapkota
ars@umd.edu
 
web site
Microbial environmental exposure assessment, with a focus on evaluating the complex relationships between the environment, food and water production systems, and human infectious diseases

Kevin Sellner
sellnerk@si.edu
web site
Plankton ecology, cyanobacteria

Adel Shirmohammadi
ashirmo@umd.edu
web site
Bioenvironmental and water resources engineering; water quality/transport modeling; nonpoint source pollution assessment using an integrated watershed approach

Joseph Sullivan
jsull@umd.edu
web site
The responses of plants to various forms of environmental stress - both natural and anthropogenic; physiological mechanisms that enable plants to exist in a wide range of environmental conditions; how human activities impact plant, agricultural or ecosystem productivity

Daniel E. Terlizzi
dterlizz@umd.edu
web site
Plant aquaculture; phycology (Sea Grant Extension Service, NOAA)

David Rogers Tilley
dtilley@umd.edu
web site
Ecological engineering; wetland assessment with hyperspectral radiometry; ecosystem filtration of air pollutants; net energy analysis of bio-fuels; environmental accounting and emergy analysis

Robert Tjaden Jr.
rtjaden@umd.edu
web site
Environmental and natural resource management and policy; forest fertilization; nutrient trading; ecosystem services; social attitudes towards environmental and natural resource management

Alba Torrents
alba@eng.umd.edu
web site
Chemical transformations and sorption of organic pollutants; environmental fate of toxic chemicals; applications of spectroscopic techniques to env. systems

Raymond R. Weil
rweil@umd.edu
web site
Soil ecology; plant-soil relationships; soil fertility; soil quality; environmental impacts of agricultural systems; nutrient and carbon cycling; cover crops in sustainable cropping systems; soil management.

Krista R. Wigginton
wigginto@umd.edu
web site
Detection and inactivation of pathogenic organisms in water; methods for detecting pathogens and to better understand the breakdown of pathogens and their biomolecules in natural and engineered systems; detecting and understanding the behavior of strains that are difficult to detect via traditional culturing methods

L. Curry Woods III
curry@umd.edu
web site
Aquaculture; evaluation of fish gamete quality; cryopreservation of fish sperm; physiological responsiveness of fish to stress; selective breeding of striped bass. 

Stephanie Yarwood
 
syarwood@umd.edu
 
 website 
 
Microbial interactions and functioning in soils, with the overall goal of understanding environmental factors that affect microbial community composition and how microbial community structure in turn affects ecosystem function; examination of how subsurface microbial communities change during soil formation and how microbial communities vary due to anthropogenic disturbance.

 

Lance T. Yonkos
 
lyonkos@umd.edu
 
website
 
Point and non-point source pollution effects on the health of aquatic biota particularly in Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries; endocrine disruption as a consequence of environmental exposure to complex contaminant mixtures.