Appalachian Laboratory

Mark S. Castro
mcastro@umces.edu
web site
Atmosphere-biosphere interactions, greenhouse gas fluxes, global environmental changes, effects of atmospheric deposition and human activities on nutrient dynamics in terrestrial ecosystems, the composition of the atmosphere

Eric Davidson
edavidson@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and nutrient cycling in terrestrial ecosystems, including the effects of management, land use change, and climatic change on soil C and N stocks, trace gas emissions from soils, and leaching of plant nutrients to streams and groundwater. Current study areas include the Brazilian Amazon Basin and Cerrado region and the forests of New England.

Andrew Elmore
aelmore@umces.edu
web site
Land use and land cover change; ecohydrology; biogeochemistry; remote sensing and spatial analysis

Katharina Engelhardt
kengelhardt@umces.edu
web site
Effects of species richness on wetland ecosystem functioning and services; community ecology and ecosystem ecology

Keith N. Eshleman
keshleman@umces.edu
web site
Watershed and wetlands hydrology; groundwater/surface water interactions; biogeochemical processes in upland and wetland ecosystems; hydrochemical modeling; ecosystem interactions with land use change

Matthew Fitzpatrick
mfitzpatrick@umces.edu
web site
Spatial modeling and mapping of global change, with an emphasis on patterns of biodiversity an range expansion of native and invasive species. Species distribution modeling, simulation modeling, biogeography, macroecology, global change ecology, biodiversity informatics and conservation. 

J. Edward Gates
egates@umces.edu
web site
Wildlife, habitatd and landscape ecology; habitat fragmentation and alteration, connectivity, edge effects and boundary dynamics; habitat suitability for vertebrate species

Paul Gugger
pgugger@umces.edu
web site
Ecological genomics; population/landscape genomics; phylogeography; molecular ecology; evolutionary responses to climate change; genetic basis of adaptation

Robert H. Hilderbrand
rhilderbrand@umces.edu
web site
Ecology and conservation biology of running waters; watershed and stream habitat restoration; linking landscapes and populations

Stephen Keller
skeller@umces.edu
web site
Molecular ecology and genomics; biological invasions; species range expansions; rapid evolution; genetic basis of adaptation; evolutionary responses to climate change; metapopulations; population structure and gene flow

Raymond P. Morgan II
rmorgan@umces.edu
web site
Aquatic ecology, genetics of Appalachian stream fishes, conservation and restoration ecology, zymurgy

David M. Nelson
dnelson@umces.edu 
web site
Ecosystem responses to natural and human-induced variations in climatic and environmental conditions; study of plants and microbes in geologic and modern settings utilizing isotopic, paleoecological, genomic and biogeochemical tools

Cathlyn D. Stylinski
cstylinski@umces.edu
web site
Environmental science education and scientific inquiry in precollege classrooms; remote sensing and plant ecophysiology

Xin Zhang
xzhang@al.umces.edu
web site
Environmental science and policy, coupled human and natural systems, biogeochemical cycles of carbon and nitrogen, earth system modeling, atmospheric-biosphere interactions.

Chesapeake Biological Laboratory

 

Hongsheng Bi
hbi@umces.edu
web site
Ocean-climate variability and ecosystem response; zooplankton community and population dynamics; application of satellite techniques in marine fisheries

Walter R. Boynton
boynton@umces.edu
web site 
Estuarine whole systems ecology, nutrient budgets, eutrophication, sediment nutrient dynamics, environmental policy

Lee Cooper
cooper@umces.edu
web site
Interdisciplinary aspects of biogeochemistry and ecology, including stable and radioisotope composition of organic materials and natural waters; aquatic plant physiology; high latitude oceanography and hydrology

Michael Gonsior
gonsior@umces.edu
web site
Molecular diversity of natural organic matter; disinfection by-products; effluent organic matter characterization; marine debris and its impact on the world's oceans; natural organic matter in extreme environments; biogeochemical cycling of carbon, nitrogen, sulfur and chlorine

Jacqueline Grebmeier
jgrebmei@umces.edu
web site
Pelagic-benthic coupling on continental shelves, benthic ecology, inverebrate zoology, contaminant distributions, high latitude oceanography

Lora A. Harris
harris@umces.edu
web site
Systems ecology; theoretical ecology; primary producers from phytoplankton to macrophytes; ecosystem modeling

Andrew Heyes
heyes@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and hydrology

Edward D. Houde
ehoude@umces.edu
web site
Fisheries science and management; recruitment mechanisms; effects of environment on reproductive success of fishes; ecology of marine and estuarine fishes, especially early-life stages

K. Halimeda Kilbourne
kilbourn@umces.edu
web site
Paleoclimate and Paleooceanography; causes of past climate variability and its implications for future climates, geochemical records of biogenic carbonates, learning from the geologic record of environmental change. 

Laura Lapham
lapham@umces.edu
web site
Gas hydrates; methane cycling; sediment biogeochemistry; carbon and nitrogen cycling; sulfate reduction; methanogenesis

Dong Liang
dliang@umces.edu
web site
Spatial statistics, spatiotemporal models, bayesian methods; remote sensing applications to environment and health

Slava Lyubchich
lyubchic@umces.edu
web site
Time series analysis, forecasting, applied statistics, non-parametric inference, bootstrap, environmental modeling, random networks

Thomas Miller
miller@umces.edu
web site
Recruitment and population dynamics of aquatic animals; fish early life history; feeding and bio-physical interactions; aquatic ecology; blue crabs

Carys Mitchelmore
mitchelm@umces.edu
web site
Investigating molecular, biochemical and cellular responses of aquatic organisms to inorganic and organic pollutants; determining species-specificity; biochemical pathways and toxic effects; applying and developing novel biomarkers to existing and emerging environmental problems

Margaret Palmer
palmer@umces.edu
web site
Stream community and ecosystems ecology; restoration ecology; stream ecosystem structure and function; influence of land use, hydrology and geomorphology on health of running-water ecosystems

Christopher Rowe
rowe@umces.edu
web site
Physiological ecology of aquatic vertebrates and invertebrates chronically exposed to sublethal concentrations of contaminants

Johan Schijf
schijf@umces.edu
web site
Aqueous geochemistry of trace metals, especially the rare earth and alkaline earth elements; uptake of trace metals by aquatic plants; trace metal coordination by siderophores and other biogenic organic ligands; using tree cores as archives of environmental metal pollution; environmental impacts of fossil energy production; physical chemistry of seawater; geochemistry of marine anoxic basins; inductively coupled plasma mass and atomic emission spectrometry; electrochemistry and potentiometric titration; ion chromatography

David Secor
secor@umces.edu
web site
Fish ecology; fish life history and migration studies; fisheries stock enhancement; migration and habitat use as behaviors controlling and regulating population dynamics

Mario Tamburri
tamburri@umces.edu
web site
Coastal sensor and sensor platform development; chemical ecology of marine organisms; ecosystem monitoring and marine conservation

Jeremy M. Testa
jtesta@umces.edu
web site
Coastal marine ecology, including eutrophication, nutrient cycling, and dissolved oxygen dynamics; interactions between biological, chemical, and physical processes in coastal ecosystems using a combination of experimental efforts, historical data analysis, and coupled biogeochemical-hydrodynmaic modeling studies to examine these aspects of estuarine and coastal aquatic science.

Lisa Wainger
wainger@umces.edu
web site
Risk analysis and decision support tools for prioritizing natural resource management options; invasive species risk assessment; wetland restoration prioritization; ecological and economic indicators for communicating relative costs and benefits of natural resource change

Michael Wilberg
wilberg@umces.edu
web site
Stock assessment; dynamics of exploited populations; harvest policy development and application; statistical model selection and averaging

Ryan Woodland
woodland@umces.edu
web site
Trophic and food web ecology, Stable isotope ecology

Horn Point Laboratory

 

Donald F. Boesch
boesch@umces.edu
web site
Use of science in environmental policy & management, particularly related to understanding the causes of and solutions to coastal eutrophication

William Boicourt
boicourt@umces.edu
web site
Physical oceanography of shallow waters, estuaries, river plumes; remote sensing and autonomous samplers; physical-biological interactions and food web dynamics

Shenn-Yu Chao
chao@umces.edu 
web site
Physical oceanography; continental shelf processes; western boundary currents dynamics; lower atmosphere circulations; estuarine circulations; numerical modelling of mesoscale processes in the ocean

Lou Codispoti
codispot@umces.edu
Arctic Ocean processes, nutrient and carbon budgets, descriptive physical oceanography, coastal upwelling and chemical oceanographic instrumentation

Victoria J. Coles
vcoles@umces.edu
web site
Physical and biological response and feedbacks to climate variability and change; Observation and modeling of ocean circulation and ventilation, biogeochemical tracer, and ecosystem cycling

Jeffrey C. Cornwell
cornwell@umces.edu
web site
Sediment biogeochemistry; burial of sediment and associated chemical constituents; nutrient exchange in sediment; influence of tidal marshes on ecosystem N and P balances

William Dennison
dennison@umces.edu
web site
Coastal ecosystem ecology; ecophysiology of marine plants; bioindicators in nearshore environments; assessing ecosystem health

Thomas R. Fisher, Jr.
fisher@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and hydrology of watersheds, denitrification, nutrient inputs to estuaries, cycling and primary production of aquatic systems

Patricia M. Glibert
glibert@umces.edu
web site
Transformations and fate of nitrogen in marine and estuarine systems; ecology of phytoplanktons; effects of eutrophication; growth and physiology of harmful algal bloom species

Raleigh Hood
rhood@umces.edu
web site
Phytoplankton production and light response, modeling of primary production and pelagic ecosystems, phytoplankton physiology, bio-optical oceanography

Todd M. Kana
kana@umces.edu
web site
Biological oceanography; algal and plant physiological ecology; regulation of photosynthesis and respiration; oxygen cycling in marine systems; application sof mass spectrometry

W. Michael Kemp
kemp@umces.edu
web site
Coastal marine ecology; net community production; nutrient cycling; physical-biological coupling; benthic-pelagic interactions; ecosystem analysis; numerical models

Victor S. Kennedy (No Longer Advising New Students)
kennedy@umces.edu
web site
Reproduction and larval behavior and ecology of bivalves; crab and fish foraging behavior; ecology and dynamics of littoral and sublittoral benthic communities; global climate change

Ming Li
mingli@umces.edu
web site
Physical oceanography, estuarine/coastal circulations; upper-ocean dynamics; turbulant mixing processes, biological/physical interactions

Sairah Malkin
smalkin@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and microbial ecology, particularly in sediment environments; benthic ecology; coastal and large lakes ecology.  Current projects are investigating the ecology of sulfur oxidizing bacteria in coastal marine systems.

Thomas Malone
malone@umces.edu
web site
Dynamics of marine ecosystems; phytoplankton ecology; coastal eutrophication

Donald Meritt
dmeritt@umces.edu
web site
Oyster aquaculture and restoration

Laura Murray
murray@umces.edu
web site
Ecology of marine and estuarine wetland communities; research experiences for environmental education.

Nicholas Nidzieko
nidzieko@umces.edu
web site
Effect of mixing and circulation on biogeochemical processes and fates in coastal ecosystems

Elizabeth North
enorth@umces.edu
web site
Biological-physical interactions: hydrodynamic and particle trajectory modeling, ichthyoplankton and zooplankton ecology, estuarine physical oceanography, fisheries recruitement variability

Judith O'Neil
joneil@umces.edu
web site
Harmful Algal Bloom dynamics; plankton nutrient and trophodynamics; Cyanobacteria ecophysiology

Cindy Palinkas
cpalinkas@umces.edu
web site
Continental-margin sedimentation; formation and preservation of sedimentary strata in the geological record; deposition and accumulation of fluvial sediment in the coastal ocean

James J. Pierson
jpierson@hpl.umces.edu
web site
Zooplankton ecology; how individual behaviors affect population dynamics; how zooplankton individuals and groups function within an ecosystem

Louis V. Plough
lplough@umces.edu
web site
Population genetics of marine animals, quantitative genetics and experimental breeding of shellfish; oyster biology and aquaculture; ecological genomics of stress adaptation in marine animals; larval biology of marine invertebrates

Michael R. Roman
roman@umces.edu
web site
Biological oceanography; zooplankton ecology

Lawrence P. Sanford
lsanford@umces.edu
web site
Coastal and esturaine physical oceanography; fine sediment transport mechanics, geophysical boundary layers, turbulence, surface and internal waves

Alyson Santoro
asantoro@umces.edu
web site
Microbial oceanography; marine archaea; nitrogen cycling; stable isotope geochemistry

Greg Silsbe
gsilsbe@umces.edu
web site
iological oceanography with an emphasis on the role of phytoplankton in the global carbon cycle. Satellite remote sensing; phytoplankton physiology; African Great Lake limnology.

J. Court Stevenson
court@umces.edu
web site
Coastal zone resources and water quality management; ecology of marsh and sea grass systems; effects of sea-level rise on wetlands and coastal shorelines; environmental history of Chesapeake Bay and its watershed