UMCP:

 

Zvi Kelman
zkelman@umd.edu
Biochemistry and molecular interaction; biochemical characterization of DNA replication; DNA replication in Archaea

 

UMBC:

Harold Schreier
schreier@umbc.edu
web site
Microbial molecular genetics and physiology; nitrogen metabolism in Bacillus subtilis; control of glutamine synthease operon expression; regulation of gene expression

Kevin R. Sowers
sowers@umbc.edu
web site
Biology of methanogenesis; anaerobic bioremediation; regulatory pathways in methanogenic Archaea; bioprocess scale-up of microorganisms from extreme environments

Yonathan Zohar
zohar@umbc.edu
web site
Fish physiology, aquaculture and endocrinology; environmental and hormonal regulation of fish reproductive cycles, spawning induction technologies, drug delivery in aquaculture, molecular biotechnology

 

UMB:

 

Shiladitya DasSarma
sdassarma@som.umaryland.edu
web site
Halophilic archaeal genomics; structure, function and evolution of genomes; global gene regulation and promoter function; biotechnological applications in medicine and industry

Shao-Jun (Jim) Du
dus@umbi.umd.edu
web site
Cellular and molecular mechanisms controlling differentiation of muscle and nerve cells during embryogenesis

Frank T. Robb
FRobb@som.umaryland.edu
web site
Archaeal molecular biology and biochemistry; genome sequence, structure and repair in hyperthermophiles; mechanisms of thermal stabilization of proteins

Gerardo R. Vasta
GVasta@som.umaryland.edu
web site
Molecular aspects and evolution of the acute phase response in vertebrates and invertebrates; structure/function relationships in carbohydrate-binding proteins; role of lectins in development and internal defense; host/parasite interactions; disease prevention, control in fisheries

 

UMCES:

 

Feng Chen
chenf@umces.edu
web site
Ecological interaction among marine viruses, bacteria and phytoplankton; phylogenetic diversity and molecular evolution of marine microbes; whole cell or in situ molecular detection; functional genes and microbial genome

J. Sook Chung
chung@umces.edu
web site
Response of crustaceans to the neurotransmitter, neurohormones and pheromones that regulate critical events in the life cycle

Russell T. Hill
hill@umces.edu
web site
Marine actinomycete molecular biology and ecology; microbiology of marine natural products; bacterial and cyanobacterial symbionts of marine sponges; marine bacteriophages; metal resistance in actinomycetes and application of bioremediation

Rosemary Jagus
jagus@umces.edu
web site
Translational control of gene expression; regulation of gene activity during early development; host defense against virus infection and viral countermeasures; role of protein synthesis in lactation

Yantao Li
yantao@umces.edu
 
web site
Pathways for and regulation of lipid synthesis and accumulation in microalgae; strategies for manipulation microalgae for biofuel production and environmental remediation

Allen Place
place@umces.edu
web site
Elucidation of the molecular mechanisms that permit organisms to adapt to unique diets, environments, and interactions (symbiosis); molecular basis of sex determination

Eric Schott
schott@umces.edu
web site
Molecular detection of pathogens of marine and estuarine animals, and working with fishermen and resource managers to make molecular tools widely useful; molecular characterization of blue crab pathogens, viruses in the blue crab; detection and investigation of protozoan pathogens of blue crab; discovery and genomic characterization of RNA viruses of the blue crab; development of tools for identifying and monitoring blue crab pathogens in aquaculture and in the environment