Andrew Baldwin
baldwin@umd.edu
web site
Wetland ecology; plant community dynamics of coastal marshes, mangroves; disturbance and regeneration ecology of wetland vegetation; influence of sea level rise on coastal wetlands; community and ecosystem processes of created and restored wetlands; nutrient effects on wetland plant communities

Donald F. Boesch
boesch@umces.edu
web site
Use of science in environmental policy & management, particularly related to understanding the causes of and solutions to coastal eutrophication

Allen C. Bush
bush@umbc.edu
web site
Environmental molecular biology; glycoprotein and polysaccharide structure determination using NMR and three dimensional molecular dynamics

Mark S. Castro
mcastro@umces.edu
web site
Atmosphere-biosphere interactions, greenhouse gas fluxes, global environmental changes, effects of atmospheric deposition and human activities on nutrient dynamics in terrestrial ecosystems, the composition of the atmosphere

Paulinus Chigbu
pchigbu@umes.edu
web site
Fisheries ecology; influence of variations in climatic factors on water quality and biota; culture of rotifers and copepods for use in rearing marine fish larvae; trophic dynamics in marine and freshwater environments; zooplankton ecology

Jeffrey C. Cornwell
cornwell@umces.edu
web site
Sediment biogeochemistry; burial of sediment and associated chemical constituents; nutrient exchange in sediment; influence of tidal marshes on ecosystem N and P balances

Eric Davidson
edavidson@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and nutrient cycling in terrestrial ecosystems, including the effects of management, land use change, and climatic change on soil C and N stocks, trace gas emissions from soils, and leaching of plant nutrients to streams and groundwater. Current study areas include the Brazilian Amazon Basin and Cerrado region and the forests of New England.

Erle C. Ellis (No longer accepting students)
ece@umbc.edu
web site
Landscape ecology; biogeochemistry, sustainable resource management

Andrew Elmore
aelmore@umces.edu
web site
Land use and land cover change; ecohydrology; biogeochemistry; remote sensing and spatial analysis

Dia-Eldin Elnaiem
daelnaiem@umes.edu
Vector-bourne diseases

Katharina Engelhardt
kengelhardt@umces.edu
web site
Effects of species richness on wetland ecosystem functioning and services; community ecology and ecosystem ecology

William Fagan
bfagan@glue.umd.edu
web site
Meshing field research with theoretical models to address critical questions in community ecology and conservation biology; ecological "edge effects" and spatial dynamics; ecoinformatics, biodiversity databases, and conservation planning

Matthew Fitzpatrick
mfitzpatrick@umces.edu
web site
Geographic distribution of species, the factors that influence them, and how they could be altered by global change; models, field studies, remotely sensed data, and climate change scenarios to address questions in a variety of systems, including terrestrial and aquatic invasive species, plants, forest pests,m and ants; potential consequences of climate change and biological invasions on natural resources such that these threats can be assessed in the context of managing other ongoing environmental changes

J. Edward Gates
egates@umces.edu
web site
Wildlife, habitatd and landscape ecology; habitat fragmentation and alteration, connectivity, edge effects and boundary dynamics; habitat suitability for vertebrate species

Jacqueline Grebmeier
jgrebmei@umces.edu
web site
Pelagic-benthic coupling on continental shelves, benthic ecology, inverebrate zoology, contaminant distributions, high latitude oceanography

Lora A. Harris
harris@umces.edu
web site
Systems ecology; theoretical ecology; primary producers from phytoplankton to macrophytes; ecosystem modeling

Robert H. Hilderbrand
rhilderbrand@umces.edu
web site
Ecology and conservation biology of running waters; watershed and stream habitat restoration; linking landscapes and populations

Edward D. Houde
ehoude@cbl.umces.edu
web site
Fisheries science and management; recruitment mechanisms; effects of environment on reproductive success of fishes; ecology of marine and estuarine fishes, especially early-life stages

Sujay Kaushal
skaushal@umd.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry, fate and transport of pollutants, limnology, microbial ecology, organic geochemistry and environmental history

W. Michael Kemp
kemp@umces.edu
web site
Coastal marine ecology; net community production; nutrient cycling; physical-biological coupling; benthic-pelagic interactions; ecosystem analysis; numerical models

Stephen Keller
skeller@umces.edu
web site
Molecular ecology and genomics; biological invasions; species range expansions; rapid evolution; genetic basis of adaptation; evolutionary responses to climate change; metapopulations; population structure and gene flow

Victor S. Kennedy  (No Longer Advising New Students)
kennedy@umces.edu
web site
Reproduction and larval behavior and ecology of bivalves; crab and fish foraging behavior; ecology and dynamics of littoral and sublittoral benthic communities; global climate change

William O. Lamp
lamp@umd.edu
web site
Applied insect ecology; plant-insect interactions; ecotoxicology; aquatic macroinvertebrate ecology in streams and wetlands impacted by humans

Stephanie Lansing
slansing@umd.edu
web site
Anaerobic digestion; ecological waste treatment systems; treatment wetlands; nutrient cycling; energy analysis; ecological modeling

Jeff Leips
leips@umbc.edu
web site
Evolution of life history traits, specifically focused on understanding how the genetic architecture underlying these traits guides and constrains their evolutionary responses to natural selection

Karen R. Lips
klips@umd.edu
web site
Conservation and ecology of amphibians and reptiles, with interest at multiple scales - including population, community and ecosystems - especially as they are affected by emerging infectious disease and global change

Sairah Malkin
smalkin@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and microbial ecology, particularly in sediment environments; benthic ecology; coastal and large lakes ecology.  Current projects are investigating the ecology of sulfur oxidizing bacteria in coastal marine systems.

Thomas Malone
malone@umces.edu
web site
Dynamics of marine ecosystems; phytoplankton ecology; coastal eutrophication

Eric B. May
ebmay@mail.umes.edu
web site
Effects of environmental contamination and habitat degradation on aquatic animal health; use of biochemical, metabolic indicators to determine the response of fish to injurious agents of conditions

Marla McIntosh
mmcintos@umd.edu
web site
Sustainable forestry; genetics of hyperaccumulation of Cd in Thlaspi caerulescens; pytomedicinals; genetic diversity

Thomas Miller
miller@cbl.umces.edu
web site
Recruitment and population dynamics of aquatic animals; fish early life history; feeding and bio-physical interactions; aquatic ecology; blue crabs

Madhumi Mitra
mmitra@mail.umes.edu
Paleontology, paleocology and paleoenvironmental studies of cretaceous-quaternary sediments of atlantic coastal plain; factors impacting the decline of submerged aquatic vegetation; phytoplankton dynamics

Thoedore A. Mollett
tamollett@mail.umes.edu
Role of hormones in animal growth, reproduction and lactation

Bahram Momen
bmomen@umd.edu
web site
Forest ecosystems; air pollution effects on ecosystem processes through plants; tree and crop ecophysiology; applied statistical analysis and experimental design in natural resources

Laura Murray
murray@umces.edu
web site
Wetlands ecology, nutrient and pore water chemistry dynamics of submerged aquatic vegetation, nutrient retention by wetlands, wetland plant ecology

Abhijit Nagchaudhuri
anagchaudhuri@umes.edu
Integration of advanced technologies of mechatronics in the fields of precision agriculture, environmental, marine and geosciences; remote sensing and image analysis

Maile Neel
mneel@umd.edu
web site
Understanding patterns of biological diversity as well as the relationships between these patterns and the ecological and evolutionary processes that have created them; applying this understanding to developing effective conservation approaches and to predict effects of changing patterns and processes

David M. Nelson
dnelson@umces.edu 
web site
Ecosystem responses to natural and human-induced variations in climatic and environmental conditions; study of plants and microbes in geologic and modern settings utilizing isotopic, paleoecological, genomic and biogeochemical tools

Mary A. Ottinger
maotting@umd.edu
web site
Neuroendocrine regulation of endocrine and behavioral aspects of avian reproduction; effects of environmental factors, such as endocrine disrupting chemicals

Margaret Palmer
palmer@umces.edu
web site
Stream community and ecosystems ecology; restoration ecology; stream ecosystem structure and function; influence of land use, hydrology and geomorphology on health of running-water ecosystems

Kennedy Paynter
paynter@umd.edu
web site
Comparative biochemistry and physiology of estuarine animals, especially bivalves; oyster disease biochemistry; biology and ecology of the eastern oyster

Joseph Pitula
jspitula@mail.umes.edu
web site
Transition metals and metabolism; molecular biology of Protozoan Parasites

Marjorie Reaka
 
mkudla@umd.edu
 
web site
 
Marine ecology; coral reef ecology; bioerosion of coral reefs; ecology and behavior of mantis shrimp; evolutionary ecology of life history patterns in crustacea

Christopher Rowe
rowe@umces.edu
web site
Physiological ecology of aquatic vertebrates and invertebrates chronically exposed to sublethal concentrations of contaminants

Douglas E. Ruby
deruby@mail.umes.edu
Population ecology and behavior of reptiles; sexual selection and mating systems of vertebrates; territoriality and agonistic behavior; biogeography; conservation biology of amphibians and reptilesecology

Lawrence P. Sanford
lsanford@umces.edu
web site
Coastal and esturaine physical oceanography; fine sediment transport mechanics, geophysical boundary layers, turbulence, surface and internal waves

David Secor
secor@umces.edu
web site
Fish ecology; fish life history and migration studies; fisheries stock enhancement; migration and habitat use as behaviors controlling and regulating population dynamics

Jeurel Singleton
jsingleton@mail.umes.edu
Identification and characterization of arthropod sensory structures; arthropod community population dynamics on host animals, aquatic and crop environments; arthropod disease vectors

Bradley G. Stevens
bgstevens@umes.edu
web site
Fisheries ecology; reproduction and early life history of crustaceans and mollusks; crustacean growth, molting, and feeding; use of in-situ technology (video, ROVs, submersibles) for studying abundance and behavior of marine species; bycatch, discard mortality, and impacts of derelict fishing gear

Joseph Sullivan
jsull@umd.edu
web site
The responses of plants to various forms of environmental stress - both natural and anthropogenic; physiological mechanisms that enable plants to exist in a wide range of environmental conditions; how human activities impact plant, agricultural or ecosystem productivity

Christopher Swan
cmswan@umbc.edu
web site
Steam community and ecosystem ecology; riparian biodiversity and stream processes; urban riparian-steam ecology

Mario Tamburri
tamburri@umces.edu
web site
Coastal sensor and sensor platform development; chemical ecology of marine organisms; ecosystem monitoring and marine conservation

David Rogers Tilley
dtilley@umd.edu
web site
Ecological engineering; wetland assessment with hyperspectral radiometry; ecosystem filtration of air pollutants; net energy analysis of bio-fuels; environmental accounting and emergy analysis

Jeremy M. Testa
jtesta@umces.edu
web site
Coastal marine ecology, including eutrophication, nutrient cycling, and dissolved oxygen dynamics; interactions between biological, chemical, and physical processes in coastal ecosystems using a combination of experimental efforts, historical data analysis, and coupled biogeochemical-hydrodynmaic modeling studies to examine these aspects of estuarine and coastal aquatic science.

Ryan Woodland
woodland@umces.edu
web site
Trophic and food web ecology, Stable isotope ecology

Stephanie Yarwood
 
syarwood@umd.edu
 website 
 
Microbial interactions and functioning in soils, with the overall goal of understanding environmental factors that affect microbial community composition and how microbial community structure in turn affects ecosystem function; examination of how subsurface microbial communities change during soil formation and how microbial communities vary due to anthropogenic disturbance.