Andrew Baldwin
baldwin@umd.edu
web site
Wetland ecology; plant community dynamics of coastal marshes, mangroves; disturbance and regeneration ecology of wetland vegetation; influence of sea level rise on coastal wetlands; community and ecosystem processes of created and restored wetlands; nutrient effects on wetland plant communities

Kaye L. Brunaker
klbrubak@umd.edu
Physical hydrology; numerical modeling; stream and estuary water-quality modeling; water vapor transport; hydroclimatology; land-atmosphere interactions

Mark Castro
mcastro@umces.edu
web site 
Atmosphere-biosphere interactions, greenhouse gas fluxes, global environmental changes, effects of atmospheric deposition and human activities on nutrient dynamics in terrestrial ecosystems, the composition of the atmosphere 

 Nianhong Chen
 
nchenus@yahoo.com
Organic geochemistry; carbon cycling in riverine, estuarine and coastal ecosystems using biomarker techniques; biomarker techniques to examine transport and fates of terrestrial organic matter in coastal, estuarine, and continental shelf environments; release of nitrogen/phosphorus nutrients from agricultural land and urban development to aquatic ecosystem, dynamics of nutrient in stream and coastal bays of Eastern Shore   

Marcos Cheney
macheney@umes.edu
Nanostructure technology for environmental, biomedical and clinical applications; surface chemistry; nuclear medicine; trace metals and radionuclides detection and removal; electrokinetic phenomena

Eric Davidson
edavidson@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and nutrient cycling in terrestrial ecosystems, including the effects of management, land use change, and climatic change on soil C and N stocks, trace gas emissions from soils, and leaching of plant nutrients to streams and groundwater. Current study areas include the Brazilian Amazon Basin and Cerrado region and the forests of New England.

William Dennison
dennison@umces.edu
web site
Coastal ecosystem ecology; ecophysiology of marine plants; bioindicators in nearshore environments; assessing ecosystem health 

Joseph Dodoo
jodoo@umes-bird.umd.edu
Application of TG/MS/GC to the study of the spontaneous combustion of low rank coals and lignites

Erie Ellis (No longer accepting students)
ece@umbc.edu
web site
Landscape ecology; biogeochemistry, sustainable resource management

Andrew Elmore
aelmore@umces.edu
web site
Land use and land cover change; ecohydrology; biogeochemistry; remote sensing and spatial analysis 

Keith N. Eshleman
keshleman@umces.edu
web site 
Watershed and wetlands hydrology; groundwater/surface water interactions; biogeochemical processes in upland and wetland ecosystems; hydrochemical modeling; ecosystem interactions with land use change 

Matthew Fitzpatrick
mfitzpatrick@umces.edu
web site
Spatial modeling and mapping of global change, with an emphasis on patterns of biodiversity and range expansion of native and invasive species; species distribution modeling, simulation modeling, biogeography, macroecology, global change ecology, biodiversity informatics and conservation

J. Edward Gates
egates@umces.edu
web site
Wildlife, habitat and landscape ecology; habitat fragmentation and alteration, connectivity, edge effects and boundary dynamics; habitat suitability for vertebrate species

Jeannie Harter-Dennis
jmharterdennis@umes.edu
Nutritional requirements of roaster chickens; reduction of carcass fat in broilers and roasters; bone abnormalities of chickens 

Robert H. Hilderbrand
rhilderbrand@umces.edu
web site
Ecology and conservation biology of running waters; watershed and stream habitat restoration; linking landscapes and populations

Robert Hill
rlh@umd.edu
web site
Tillage effect on soil hydraulic properties and agrichemical losses; development of nutrient management planning and environmental risk assessment software  

Andra Karen Johnson
akjohnson@mail.umces.edu
 web site 
Assessing the health of Atlantic menhaden using several biomarkers of fish health: indictors of tissue damage, nutritional status and exposure to environmental stressors, immune function and disease

Patrick Kangas
pkangas@umd.edu
web site 
Ecological engineering; natural resource management; tropical ecosystems

Stephen Keller
skeller@umces.edu
web site
Molecular ecology and genomics; biological invasions; species range expansions; rapid evolution; genetic basis of adaptation; evolutionary responses to climate change; metapopulations; population structure and gene flow  

Stephanie Lansing
slansing@umd.edu
web site
Anaerobic digestion; ecological waste treatment systems; treatment wetlands; nutrient cycling; energy analysis; ecological modeling

Paul Leisnham
leisnham@umd.edu 
web site
The ecology of native and invasive mosquitoes in water-filled containers, wetlands, and drainage systems; species that are affected both by human disruption (e.g., climate change, land use change, and globalization) and that present social, economic and health risks 

Karen Lips
klips@umd.edu
web site
Conservation and ecology of amphibians and reptiles, with interest at multiple scales - including population, community and ecosystems - especially as they are affected by emerging infectious disease and global change

Thomas Malone
malone@umces.edu
web site
Dynamics of marine ecosystems; photoplankton ecology; coastal eutrophication

Marla McIntosh
mmcintos@umd.edu
web site
Sustainable forestry; genetics of hyperaccumulation of Cd in Thlaspi caerulescens; pytomedicinals; genetic diversity

Andrew J. Miller
miller@umbc.edu
web site
Surface-water hydrology and fluvial geomorphology; interaction between flow patterns and boundary conditions imposed by geometry; effects of human activities on watershed hydrology and river channels  

Madhumi Mitra
mmitra@umes.edu
Paleontology, paleoecology, and paleoenvironmental studies of cretaceous-quarterary sediments of atlantic coastal plains; factors impacting the decline of submerged aquatic vegetation; photoplankton dynamics 

Bahram Momen
bmomen@umd.edu
web site
Forest ecosystems; air pollution effects on ecosystem processes through plants; tree and crop ecophysiology; applied statistical analysis and experimental design in natural resources

Raymond P. Morgan II
rmogran@umces.edu
web site
Aquatic ecology, genetics of Appalachian stream fishes, conservation and restoration ecology, zymurgy 

Abhijit Nagchaudhuri
anagchaudhuri@umes.edu
Integration of advanced technologies of mechatronics in the fields of precision agriculture, environmental, marine and geosciences; remote sensing and image analysis  

Brian Needelman
bneed@umd.edu 
web site
Applying the concepts and tools of pedology to solve environmental problems; pollutant fate and transport; improving management and phosphorus fate and transport; carbon sequestration in tidal marshes; spatial and geospatial analyses; soil mapping and applications of soil survey databases 

Judith O'Neil
joneil@umces.edu
web site
Harmful algal bloom dynamics; plankton nutrient and trophodynamics; cynobacteria ecophysiology 

Edward Orlando
eorlando@umd.edu
web site
Integration of molecular, endocrinological, and morphological endpoints to investigate the environment - genome interaction and its effect on development and reproduction; how environmental factors affect the development of sex specific characteristics and brain - piutary - gonadal axis regulation of reproduction in fishes

Margaret Palmer
palmer@umces.edu
web site 
Stream community and ecosystem ecology; restoration ecology; stream ecosystem structure and function; influence of land use, hydrology, and geomorphology on health of running-water ecosystems 

Michael Paolisso
mpaoliss@umd.edu
web site
Environmental and economic anthropology; environment and pollution; international and rural development; research methods and gender 

Brian Reed
reedb@umbc.edu
web site
Sorption of organics/inorganics, surface chemistry, separation processes, water and wastewater treatment, soil and site remediation, pollution prevention/washer minimization; stormwater management 

Amir Sapkota
amirsap@umd.edu
web site
Exposure assessment and environmental epidemiology; understanding human exposures to chemical agents in the environment and how this exposure may vary across space and time, as well as between different population groups using personal air monitoring as well as urinary and serum based biomarkers of exposure; identification of specific subpopulations that are at increased risk of developing diseases

Amy R. Sapkota
ars@umd.edu
web site
Microbial environmental exposure assessment, with a focus on evaluating the complex relationships between the environment, food and water production systems, and human infectious disease

Adel Shirmohammadi
ashirmo@umd.edu
web site
Bioenvironmental and water resources engineering; water quality/transport modeling; non-point source pollution assessment using an integrated watershed approach 

Bradley G. Stevens
bgsevens@umes.edu
web site
Fisheries ecology; reproduction and early life history of crustaceans and mollusks; crustacean growth, molting, and feeding; use of in-situ technology (video, ROVs, submersibles) for studying abundance and behavior of marine species; bycatch, discard, mortality, and impact of derelict fishing gear

J. Court Stevenson
court@umces.edu
web site
Coastal zone resources and water quality management; ecology of marsh and sea grass systems; effects of sea-level rise on wetlands and coastal shorelines; environmental history of the Chesapeake Bay and its watershed

Cathlyn D. Stylinski
cstylinski@umces.edu
web site
Environmental science education and scientific inquiry in precollege classrooms; remote sensing and plate ecophysiology  

Joseph Sullivan
jsull@umd.edu
web site
The response of plants to various forms of environmental stress - both natural and anthropogenic; physiological mechanisms that enable plants to exist in a wide range of environmental conditions; how human activities implant plat, agricultural or ecosystem productivity  

Christopher Swan
cmswan@umbc.edu
web site
Stream community and ecosystem ecology; riparian biodiversity and stream processes; urban riparian-stream ecology  

David Rogers Tilley
dtilley@umd.edu
web site
Ecological engineering; wetland assessment with hyperspectral radiometry; ecosystem filtration of air pollutants; net energy analysis of bio-fuels; environmental accounting and energy analysis  

Robert Tjaden Jr.  
rtjaden@umd.edu
web site
Environmental and natural resource management and policy; forest fertilization; nutrient trading; ecosystem services; social attitudes toward environmental and natural resource management

Lisa Wainger
wainger@umces.edu
web site
Risk analysis and decision support tools for prioritizing natural resource management options; invasive species risk assessment; wetland restoration prioritization; ecological and economic indicators for communicating relative costs and benefits of natural resource change  

Raymond R. Weil
rweil@umd.edu
web site
Soil ecology; plant-spoil relationships; soil fertility; soil quality; environmental impacts of agricultural systems; nutrient and carbon cycling; cover crops in sustainable cropping systems; soil management

Claire Welty
welty@umbc.edu
web site
Transport processes in aquifers; mathematical modeling of groundwater flow and transport in porous and fractured media; application of stochastic methods to interpreting groundwater problems; design and analysis of field scale hydraulic and tracer tests  

Stephanie Yarwood
syarwood@umd.edu
website 
Microbial interactions and functioning in soils, with the overall goal of understanding environmental factors that affect microbial community composition and how microbial community structure in turn affects ecosystem function; examination of how subsurface microbial communities change during soil formation and how microbial communities vary due to anthropogenic disturbance.

Lance T. Yonkos
lyonkos@umd.edu
website
Point and non-point source pollution effects on the health of aquatic biota particularly in Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries; endocrine disruption as a consequence of environmental exposure to complex contaminant mixtures. 

Xin Zhang
xzhang@al.umces.edu
web site
Environmental science and policy, coupled human and natural systems, biogeochemical cycles of carbon and nitrogen, earth system modeling, atmospheric-biosphere interactions.