Environmental Molecular Science & Technology

Neil V. Blough
neilb@umd.edu
web site
Methods for detecting and identifying free radicals in condensed phases; impact of (photo)oxidative reactions on the transformation and fate of organic & inorganic compounds in natural waters and biological systems

Feng Chen
chenf@umces.edu
web site
Ecological interaction among marine viruses, bacteria and phytoplankton; phylogenetic diversity and molecular evolution of marine microbes; whole cell or in situ molecular detection; functional genes and microbial genome

J. Sook Chung
chung@umces.edu
web site
Response of crustaceans to the neurotransmitter, neurohormones and pheromones that regulate critical events in the life cycle

Kausik Das
kdas@umes.edu
Understanding of the capillary and wetting dynamics on under-sea bio-solid substrates, the role of viscous bio-films on contact line dynamics to reveal the micro-scale information of the under-liquid wetting transition, and use it into developing macroscopic tools and techniques to i) develop tools for characterization of under-water pollutant plumes and its impact on marine ecosystems; ii)Develop surfaces which will simultaneously behave as superhydrophobic (water repellant) and superleophobic (oil repellant); (iii) Develop efficient under-water structures with antifouling properties; iv) Develop novel micro-fluidic devices for mixing/demixing.

Shiladitya DasSarma
sdassarma@som.umaryland.edu
web site
Halophilic archaeal genomics; structure, function and evolution of genomes; global gene regulation and promoter function; biotechnological applications in medicine and industry

Paul Gugger
pgugger@umces.edu
web site
Ecological genomics; population/landscape genomics; phylogeography; molecular ecology; evolutionary responses to climate change; genetic basis of adaptation

Russell T. Hill
hill@umces.edu
web site
Marine actinomycete molecular biology and ecology; microbiology of marine natural products; bacterial and cyanobacterial symbionts of marine sponges; marine bacteriophages; metal resistance in actinomycetes and application of bioremediation

Rosemary Jagus
jagus@umces.edu
web site
Translational control of gene expression; regulation of gene activity during early development; host defense against virus infection and viral countermeasures; role of protein synthesis in lactation

Todd M. Kana
kana@umces.edu
web site
Biological oceanography; algal and plant physiological ecology; regulation of photosynthesis and respiration; oxygen cycling in marine systems; application sof mass spectrometry

Yantao Li
yantao@umces.edu
web site
Pathways for and regulation of lipid synthesis and accumulation in microalgae; strategies for manipulation microalgae for biofuel production and environmental remediation

Allen Place
place@umces.edu
web site
Elucidation of the molecular mechanisms that permit organisms to adapt to unique diets, environments, and interactions (symbiosis); molecular basis of sex determination

Louis V. Plough
lplough@umces.edu
web site
Population genetics of marine animals, quantitative genetics and experimental breeding of shellfish; oyster biology and aquaculture; ecological genomics of stress adaptation in marine animals; larval biology of marine invertebrates

Joseph Pitula
jspitula@umes.edu
web site
Molecular biology and metabolomics of marine protistan parasites; ecology of disease transmission

Johan Schijf
schijf@umces.edu
web site
Aqueous geochemistry of trace metals, especially the rare earth and alkaline earth elements; uptake of trace metals by aquatic plants; trace metal coordination by siderophores and other biogenic organic ligands; using tree cores as archives of environmental metal pollution; environmental impacts of fossil energy production; physical chemistry of seawater; geochemistry of marine anoxic basins; inductively coupled plasma mass and atomic emission spectrometry; electrochemistry and potentiometric titration; ion chromatography

Eric Schott
schott@umces.edu
web site
Molecular detection of pathogens of marine and estuarine animals, and working with fishermen and resource managers to make molecular tools widely useful; molecular characterization of blue crab pathogens, viruses in the blue crab; detection and investigation of protozoan pathogens of blue crab; discovery and genomic characterization of RNA viruses of the blue crab; development of tools for identifying and monitoring blue crab pathogens in aquaculture and in the environment

Kevin R. Sowers
sowers@umbc.edu
web site
Biology of methanogenesis; anaerobic bioremediation; regulatory pathways in methanogenic Archaea; bioprocess scale-up of microorganisms from extreme environments.

Alba Torrents
alba@eng.umd.edu
web site
Chemical transformations and sorption of organic pollutants; environmental fate of toxic chemicals; applications of spectroscopic techniques to environmental systems

Gerardo R. Vasta
GVasta@som.umaryland.edu
web site
Molecular aspects and evolution of the acute phase response in vertebrates and invertebrates; structure/function relationships in carbohydrate-binding proteins; role of lectins in development and internal defense; host/parasite interactions; disease prevention, control in fisheries

Yan Waguespack
yywaguespack@umes.edu
web site
Lethal and sublethal responses of early life-stages of winter flounder to habitat contamination in their natal estuaries; sublethal physiological effects of heavy metal on ecologically key marine and aquatic organisms by using 31P NMR, AAS and ICP-AES; characterization of high molecular weight mucin-like glycoconjugates from fish models; heavy metal and polyaromatic hydrocarbon investigations on sediment along Maryland coastal bay, and heavy metal contaminants' effect on SAV plant along Maryland coastal bay; phyto remediation of TNT, DNT and other contaminants

Stephanie Yarwood
syarwood@umd.edu
website 
Microbial interactions and functioning in soils, with the overall goal of understanding environmental factors that affect microbial community composition and how microbial community structure in turn affects ecosystem function; examination of how subsurface microbial communities change during soil formation and how microbial communities vary due to anthropogenic disturbance.