Andrew Baldwin
baldwin@umd.edu
web site
Wetland ecology; plant community dynamics of coastal marshes and mangroves; disturbance and regeneration ecology of wetland vegetation; wetland seed banks; influence of sea level rise on coastal wetlands; community and ecosystem processes of created and restored wetlands; nutrient effects on wetland plant communities

Helen Bailey
hbailey@umces.edu
Web site
Spatial and movement ecology; habitat modeling; marine top predator ecology; environmental impacts of offshore energy. 

Denise Breitburg
breitburgd@si.edu
web site
Relationship between behavior and community ecology; larval fish ecology

Paulinus Chigbu
pchigbu@umes.edu
web site
Fisheries ecology; influence of variations in climatic factors on water quality and biota; culture of rotifers and copepods for use in rearing marine fish larvae; trophic dynamics in marine and freshwater environments; zooplankton ecology

J. Sook Chung
chung@umces.edu
web site
Response of crustaceans to the neurotransmitter, neurohormones and pheromones that regulate critical events in the life cycle

Victoria J. Coles
vcoles@umces.edu
web site
Physical and biological response and feedbacks to climate variability and change; Observation and modeling of ocean circulation and ventilation, biogeochemical tracer, and ecosystem cycling

Lee Cooper
cooper@umces.edu
web site
Interdisciplinary aspects of biogeochemistry and ecology, including stable and radioisotope composition of organic materials and natural waters; aquatic plant physiology; high latitude oceanography and hydrology

Jeffrey C. Cornwell
cornwell@umces.edu
web site
Sediment biogeochemistry; burial of sediment and associated chemical constituents; nutrient exchange in sediment; influence of tidal marshes on ecosystem N and P balances

Eric Davidson
edavidson@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and nutrient cycling in terrestrial ecosystems, including the effects of management, land use change, and climatic change on soil C and N stocks, trace gas emissions from soils, and leaching of plant nutrients to streams and groundwater. Current study areas include the Brazilian Amazon Basin and Cerrado region and the forests of New England.

William Dennison
dennison@umces.edu
web site
Coastal ecosystem ecology; ecophysiology of marine plants; bioindicators in nearshore environments; assessing ecosystem health

Andrew Elmore
aelmore@umces.edu
web site
Land use and land cover change; ecohydrology; biogeochemistry; remote sensing and spatial analysis

Katharina Engelhardt (currently not taking on students)
kengelhardt@umces.edu
web site
Effects of species richness on wetland ecosystem functioning and services; community ecology and ecosystem ecology

Matthew Fitzpatrick
mfitzpatrick@umces.edu
web site
Spatial modeling and mapping of global change, with an emphasis on patterns of biodiversity an range expansion of native and invasive species. Species distribution modeling, simulation modeling, biogeography, macroecology, global change ecology, biodiversity informatics and conservation. 

J. Edward Gates
egates@umces.edu
web site
Wildlife, habitat and landscape ecology; habitat fragmentation and alteration, connectivity, edge effects and boundary dynamics; habitat suitability for vertebrate species

Paul Gugger
pgugger@umces.edu
web site
Ecological genomics; population/landscape genomics; phylogeography; molecular ecology; evolutionary responses to climate change; genetic basis of adaptation

Reginal M. Harrell (currently not taking on students)
rharrell@umd.edu
web site
Environmental and bioethics; conservation and restoration ecology; breeding genetics and hybridization; stress physiology of vertebrates

Lora A. Harris
harris@umces.edu
web site
Systems ecology; theoretical ecology; primary producers from phytoplankton to macrophytes; ecosystem modeling

Robert H. Hilderbrand
rhilderbrand@umces.edu
web site
Ecology and conservation biology of running waters; watershed and stream habitat restoration; linking landscapes and populations

Edward D. Houde
ehoude@umces.edu
web site
Fisheries science and management; recruitment mechanisms; effects of environment on reproductive success of fishes; ecology of marine and estuarine fishes, especially early-life stages

Laura Hungerford
lhungerf@epi.umaryland.edu    
web site 
Infectious diseases epidemiology and the application of techniques for GIS; spatial statistical analysis and dynamic modeling in the study of zoonoses and other diseases.  

Patrick Kangas
pkangas@umd.edu
web site
Ecological engineering; natural resource management; tropical ecosystems

W. Michael Kemp
kemp@umces.edu
web site
Coastal marine ecology; net community production; nutrient cycling; physical-biological coupling; benthic-pelagic interactions; ecosystem analysis; numerical models

Laura Lapham
lapham@umces.edu
web site
Gas hydrates; methane cycling; sediment biogeochemistry; carbon and nitrogen cycling; sulfate reduction; methanogenesis

William O. Lamp
lamp@umd.edu
web site
Applied insect ecology; plant-insect interactions; ecotoxicology; aquatic macroinvertebrate ecology in streams and wetlands impacted by humans

Ming Li
mingli@umces.edu
web site
Physical oceanography, estuarine/coastal circulations; upper-ocean dynamics; turbulant mixing processes, biological/physical interactions

Sairah Malkin
smalkin@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and microbial ecology, particularly in sediment environments; benthic ecology; coastal and large lakes ecology.  Current projects are investigating the ecology of sulfur oxidizing bacteria in coastal marine systems.

Eric B. May
ebmay@mail.umes.edu
web site
Effects of environmental contamination and habitat degradation on aquatic animal health; use of biochemical and metabolic indicators to determine the response of fish to injurious agents of conditions; establishment of clinical methods for non-lethal testing

Thomas Miller
miller@umces.edu
web site
Recruitment and population dynamics of aquatic animals; fish early life history; feeding and bio-physical interactions; aquatic ecology; blue crabs

Jennifer L. Murrow
wildlife@umd.edu
web site
Applied spatial wildlife ecology, with emphasis on habitat modeling, habitat use and selection, and animal movements in suburban and urban ecosystems; conflict resolution and conservation planning in natural resources

Genevieve Nesslage
nesslage@umces.edu
web site
Fish and wildlife population dynamics; fisheries stock assessment; invasive species biology, quantitative ecology. 

David M. Nelson
dnelson@umces.edu 
web site
Ecosystem responses to natural and human-induced variations in climatic and environmental conditions; study of plants and microbes in geologic and modern settings utilizing isotopic, paleoecological, genomic and biogeochemical tools

Elizabeth North
enorth@umces.edu
web site
Biological-physical interactions: hydrodynamic and particle trajectory modeling, ichthyoplankton and zooplankton ecology, estuarine physical oceanography, fisheries recruitment variability

Margaret Palmer
palmer@umces.edu
web site
Stream community and ecosystems ecology; restoration ecology; stream ecosystem structure and function; influence of land use, hydrology and geomorphology on health of running-water ecosystems

James J. Pierson
jpierson@hpl.umces.edu
web site
Zooplankton ecology; how individual behaviors affect population dynamics; how zooplankton individuals and groups function within an ecosystem

Joseph Pitula
jspitula@umes.edu
web site
Molecular biology and metabolomics of marine protistan parasites; ecology of disease transmission

Louis V. Plough
lplough@umces.edu
web site
Population genetics of marine animals, quantitative genetics and experimental breeding of shellfish; oyster biology and aquaculture; ecological genomics of stress adaptation in marine animals; larval biology of marine invertebrates

Karen L. Prestegaard
kpresto@umd.edu
web site
Sediment transport and depositional processes; mechanisms of streamflow generation and their variations with watershed scale, geology and land use; hydrology of coastal and riparian wetlands

Martin Rabenhorst
mrabenho@umd.edu
web site
Genesis, morphology and classification of hydromorphic soils, particularly non-tidal wetlands and coastal marshes; pedogenesis and resource inventory of subaqueous soils

Michael R. Roman
roman@umces.edu
web site
Biological oceanography; zooplankton ecology

Christopher Rowe
rowe@umces.edu
web site
Physiological ecology of aquatic vertebrates and invertebrates chronically exposed to sublethal concentrations of contaminants

Lawrence P. Sanford
lsanford@umces.edu
web site
Coastal and esturaine physical oceanography; fine sediment transport mechanics, geophysical boundary layers, turbulence, surface and internal waves

David Secor
secor@umces.edu
web site
Fish ecology; fish life history and migration studies; fisheries stock enhancement; migration and habitat use as behaviors controlling and regulating population dynamics

Greg Silsbe
gsilsbe@umces.edu
web site
Biological oceanography with an emphasis on the role of phytoplankton in the global carbon cycle. Satellite remote sensing; phytoplankton physiology; African Great Lake limnology.

Bradley G. Stevens
bgstevens@umes.edu
web site
Fisheries ecology; reproduction and early life history of crustaceans and mollusks; crustacean growth, molting, and feeding; use of in-situ technology (video, ROVs, submersibles) for studying abundance and behavior of marine species; bycatch, discard mortality, and impacts of derelict fishing gear

J. Court Stevenson
court@umces.edu
web site
Coastal zone resources and water quality management; ecology of marsh and sea grass systems; effects of sea-level rise on wetlands and coastal shorelines; environmental history of Chesapeake Bay and its watershed

Christopher Swan
cmswan@umbc.edu
web site
Steam community and ecosystem ecology; riparian biodiversity and stream processes; urban riparian-steam ecology

Jeremy M. Testa
jtesta@umces.edu
web site
Coastal marine ecology, including eutrophication, nutrient cycling, and dissolved oxygen dynamics; interactions between biological, chemical, and physical processes in coastal ecosystems using a combination of experimental efforts, historical data analysis, and coupled biogeochemical-hydrodynmaic modeling studies to examine these aspects of estuarine and coastal aquatic science. 

Gerardo R. Vasta
GVasta@som.umaryland.edu
web site
Molecular aspects and evolution of the acute phase response in vertebrates and invertebrates; structure/function relationships in carbohydrate-binding proteins; role of lectins in development and internal defense; host/parasite interactions; disease prevention, control in fisheries

Lisa Wainger
wainger@umces.edu
web site
Risk analysis and decision support tools for prioritizing natural resource management options; invasive species risk assessment; wetland restoration prioritization; ecological and economic indicators for communicating relative costs and benefits of natural resource change

Raymond R. Weil
rweil@umd.edu
web site
Soil ecology; plant-soil relationships; soil fertility; soil quality; environmental impacts of agricultural systems; nutrient and carbon cycling; cover crops in sustainable cropping systems; soil management. 

Michael Wilberg
wilberg@umces.edu
web site
Stock assessment; dynamics of exploited populations; harvest policy development and application; statistical model selection and averaging

Ryan Woodland
woodland@umces.edu
web site
Trophic and food web ecology, Stable isotope ecology