Arctic Ocean processes, nutrient and carbon budgets, descriptive physical oceanography, coastal upwelling and chemical oceanographic instrumentation.

A

No Faculty Listed

 

B

Andrew Baldwin
baldwin@umd.edu
web site
Wetland ecology; plant community dynamics of coastal marshes and mangroves; disturbance and regeneration ecology of wetland vegetation; wetland seed banks; influence of sea level rise on coastal wetlands; community and ecosystem processes of created and restored wetlands; nutrient effects on wetland plant communities

Hongsheng Bi
hbi@umces.edu
web site
Ocean-climate variability and ecosystem response; zooplankton community and population dynamics; application of satellite techniques in marine fisheries

Lee Blaney
blaney@umbc.edu
web site
Fate and transport of emerging contaminants in natural and engineered systems; environmental detection of pharmaceuticals or treatment processes aimed at removing pharmaceuticals from drinking water/wastewater matrices

Neil V. Blough
neilb@umd.edu
web site
methods for detecting and identifying free radicals in condensed phases; impact of (photo)oxidative reactions on the transformation and fate of organic & inorganic compounds in natural waters and biological systems

Donald F. Boesch
boesch@umces.edu
web site
Use of science in environmental policy & management, particularly related to understanding the causes of and solutions to coastal eutrophication

William Boicourt
boicourt@umces.edu
web site
Physical oceanography of shallow waters, estuaries, river plumes; remote sensing and autonomous samplers; physical-biological interactions and food web dynamics

Kaye L. Brubaker
klbrubak@umd.edu
web site
Physical hydrology; numerical modeling; stream and estuary water-quality modeling; water vapor transport; hydroclimatology; land-atmosphere interactions

Allen C. Bush (currently not taking on students)
bush@umbc.edu
web site
Chemical structure and 3-dimensional conformation of complex carbohydrates of glycoproteins and polysaccharides of the cell surface using biophysical methods

Walter R. Boynton
boynton@umces.edu
web site 
Estuarine whole systems ecology, nutrient budgets, eutrophication, sediment nutrient dynamics, environmental policy

 

C

James Carton
carton@umd.edu
web site
Physical oceanography; ocean circulation; dynamics of the tropical Atlantic as it responds to meteorological forcing on seasonal and longer timescales

Mark S. Castro
mcastro@umces.edu
web site
Atmosphere-biosphere interactions, greenhouse gas fluxes, global environmental changes, effects of atmospheric deposition and human activities on nutrient dynamics in terrestrial ecosystems, the composition of the atmosphere

Shenn-Yu Chao
chao@umces.edu 
web site
Physical oceanography; continental shelf processes; western boundary currents dynamics; lower atmosphere circulations; estuarine circulations; numerical modelling of mesoscale processes in the ocean

Feng Chen
chenf@umces.edu
web site
Ecological interaction among marine viruses, bacteria and phytoplankton; phylogenetic diversity and molecular evolution of marine microbes; whole cell or in situ molecular detection; functional genes and microbial genome

Nianhong Chen
nchenus@yahoo.com
Organic geochemistry; carbon cycling in riverine, estuarine and coastal ecosystems using biomarker techniques; biomarker techniques to examine transport and fates of terrestrial organic matter in coastal, estuarine and continental shelf environments; release of nitrogen/phosphorus nutrients from agricultural land and urban development to aquatic ecosystem, dynamics of nutrient in stream and coastal bays of Eastern Shore

Marcos Cheney
macheney@umes.edu
Nanostructure technology for environmental, biomedical and clinical applications; surface chemistry; nuclear medicine; trace metals and radionuclides detection and removal; electrokinetic phenomena

Paulinus Chigbu
pchigbu@umes.edu
web site
Fisheries ecology; influence of variations in climatic factors on water quality and biota; culture of rotifers and copepods for use in rearing marine fish larvae; trophic dynamics in marine and freshwater environments; zooplankton ecology

J. Sook Chung
chung@umces.edu
web site
Response of crustaceans to the neurotransmitter, neurohormones and pheromones that regulate critical events in the life cycle

Lou Codispoti
codispot@umces.edu
Arctic Ocean processes, nutrient and carbon budgets, descriptive physical oceanography, coastal upwelling and chemical oceanographic instrumentation

Victoria J. Coles
vcoles@umces.edu
web site
Physical and biological response and feedbacks to climate variability and change; Observation and modeling of ocean circulation and ventilation, biogeochemical tracer, and ecosystem cycling

Lee Cooper
cooper@umces.edu
web site
Interdisciplinary aspects of biogeochemistry and ecology, including stable and radioisotope composition of organic materials and natural waters; aquatic plant physiology; high latitude oceanography and hydrology

Jeffrey C. Cornwell
cornwell@umces.edu
web site
Sediment biogeochemistry; burial of sediment and associated chemical constituents; nutrient exchange in sediment; influence of tidal marshes on ecosystem N and P balances

 

D

Robert Dadson (currently not taking on students)
rbdadson@mail.umes.edu
International programs in soybean breeding; insect resistance of soybeans; agronomy and breeding of food enzymes; biological nitrogen fixation

Shiladitya DasSarma
sdassarma@som.umaryland.edu
web site
Halophilic archaeal genomics; structure, function and evolution of genomes; global gene regulation and promoter function; biotechnological applications in medicine and industry

Eric Davidson
edavidson@umces.edu
web site
Biogeochemistry and nutrient cycling in terrestrial ecosystems, including the effects of management, land use change, and climatic change on soil C and N stocks, trace gas emissions from soils, and leaching of plant nutrients to streams and groundwater. Current study areas include the Brazilian Amazon Basin and Cerrado region and the forests of New England.

Allen P. Davis
apdavis@umd.edu
web site
Environmental chemistry; aquatic and interfacial environmental chemistry as related to water/ wastewater treatment processes and in natural aquatic/soil systems

William Dennison
dennison@umces.edu
web site
Coastal ecosystem ecology; ecophysiology of marine plants; bioindicators in nearshore environments; assessing ecosystem health

Joseph Dodoo
jdodoo@umes-bird.umd.edu
Application of TG/MS/GC to the study of the spontaneous conbustion of low rank coals and lignites

Shao-Jun (Jim) Du
dus@umbi.umd.edu
web site
Cellular and molecular mechanisms controlling differentiation of muscle and nerve cells during embryogenesis

 

E

Erle C. Ellis (No longer accepting students)
ece@umbc.edu
web site
Landscape ecology; biogeochemistry, sustainable resource management

Andrew Elmore
aelmore@umces.edu
web site
Land use and land cover change; ecohydrology; biogeochemistry; remote sensing and spatial analysis

Dia-Eldin Elnaiem
daelnaiem@umes.edu
 
web site
Biology of Leishmania  parasites in their sand fly vectors; biology, ecology and population genetics of sand fly vectors of leishmaniasis in East Africa; epidemiology and control of visceral and cutaneous Leishmaniasis; epidemiology and control of malaria; ecology and control of mosquito vectors of disease in Maryland coastal bays. 

Katharina Engelhardt (currently not taking on students)
kengelhardt@umces.edu
web site
Effects of species richness on wetland ecosystem functioning and services; community ecology and ecosystem ecology

Keith N. Eshleman
keshleman@umces.edu
web site
Watershed and wetlands hydrology; groundwater/surface water interactions; biogeochemical processes in upland and wetland ecosystems; hydrochemical modeling; ecosystem interactions with land use change