(note: participating faculty members cannot serve as primary advisors but may co-advise or serve on committees)

 

Ayodele Alade
ajalade@umes.edu
web site
Industrial economics; planning and decision model applications

Helen Bailey
hbailey@umces.edu
Web site
Spatial and movement ecology; habitat modeling; marine top predator ecology; environmental impacts of offshore energy. 

Denise Breitburg
breitburgd@si.edu
web site
Relationship between behavior and community ecology; larval fish ecology

Michael Braun
braunm@si.edu
Molecular evolutionary genetics; ornithology; molecular phylogenetics; speciation; dynamics of hybrid zones; conservation genetics; Neotropical biogeography; ancient DNA

James R. Cohen
jimcohen@umd.edu
web site
Urban restoration; land-use policy; smart growth initiatives

Cynthia Gilmour
gilmourc@si.edu
web site
Mercury and sulfur biogeochemistry

Anson Hines
hinesa@si.edu
web site
Marine and estuarine invertebrate and fish population biology and community ecology

Lou Kaplan
web site
Microbial ecology in running water systems, DOM dynamics

William R. LaCourse
lacourse@umbc.edu
web site
Pulsed electrochemical detection techniques

Melissa McCormick
mccormickm@si.edu
web site
Effects of environmental change on plant-fungal interactions and plant invasions; molecular ecology; mycorrhizal associations; soil fungal communities; wetland invasive species; Phragmites australis

Patrick J. Megonigal
megonigalp@si.edu
web site
Sediment dynamics; biogeochemical cycling

Walter Mulbry
web site
Biodegradation; biotechnology; toxicology (USDA Agricultural Research Center)

Robert Provine
provine@umbc.edu
web site
 
Biological bases of behavior; development of the nervous system and behavior; prenatal behavior

Gregory Ruiz
ruizg@si.edu
web site
Invasive species in estuaries; ecological parasitology

Kevin Sellner
sellnerk@si.edu
web site
Phytoplankton ecology, algal blooms; HABs

Thomas Serfass
tserfass@frostburg.edu
web site
Ecology and management of wildlife populations; wildlife techniques; wildlife reintroductions; carnivore behavior and ecology. 

Gurbax Singh
gsingh@umes.edu
web site
Resonance apparatus; trace detection of nitro-compounds